Academy Advisory Body

As part of Delta we have an Academy Advisory Board (AAB) as our governing body. Members have been elected from individuals with varying backgrounds, who volunteer their time and commitment. The AAB members include a retired further education lecturer, business professionals, parents and staff. The Board members all bring their life skills, experience and expertise to support and enhance life within the Academy. The aim is to support the Academy to achieve outstanding status, providing pupils with the necessary skills and learning to achieve the best they possibly can in life. 

Mick Whittle - AAB Chair - Health & Safety Representative (Delta Facilities Officer)

I have been a teacher for over 35 years with experience of leading both a large technology faculty as well as being a member of Leadership of an outstanding academy.  I also have experience of successfully developing academy buildings and facilities so that pupils can learn in a vibrant and safe learning environment. I hope my experience will support the academy during the process of a major expansion programme. 

Gemma Scothern - AAB Vice Chair & Finance Representative (Delta Director of Operations)

Sophie Taylor - Head of Academy

Trudi Bartle - Safeguarding Representative (Executive Principal)

Casey Milton - Behaviour & Attendance Representative

Helen Prout - Standards

Guidance on the roles and duties of governing boards, and advice on the skills, knowledge and behaviours they need to be effective can be found here:

AAB Chair Contact Details

Mick Whittle is the Chair of the Academy Advisory Board. She can be contacted via the academy on or in writing at the following address:

c/o Simpson's Lane Academy
Sycamore Avenue
WF11 0PJ

You can read more about our AAB on our Statutory Information page here.